Spiced Pineapple Summer Skewers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I finally feel like I’m in the swing of summer recipes and couldn’t be more excited about it. I’ve never BBQ’d before as I assumed it was difficult and time consuming but recently learned this is not the case.

A perfect summer side dish has always been skewers/ kabobs, they’re so versatile and can almost go with any entree. I decided to give these a go and on the first try they were not only dry but bare and boring. Most recipes (unless I have luck on my side) take another try or two to get just right. It’s a frustrating but perfect learning experience. I went back to square one and thought about how I could not only improve the recipe as a whole but how I could incorporate ‘summer’ into these skewers. We have been in Maui, HI for the past week and tropical fruit is everywhere, this was the perfect occasion to incorporate it and did it ever turn out. Grilled pineapple is the perfect addition to these vegetables.

This recipe is more of me using what I found but is so easy to change up and add/subtract what you like. Hopefully this will get some non grillers like myself feeling more confident in giving the barbecue a chance and learning a few of my mistakes I recommend you don’t do.

♥ Instantly take your classic skewer recipe and make them sweet and perfect for summer by blending a mango or two + 1/2 TBSP of water into your favourite BBQ sauce. The BBQ heat will help soak in the sugars and add an extra touch to your vegetables. Add some hot sauce into the blender as well for a hot but sweet finish. ♥


Ingredients I used (Use whatever you prefer)

  • Olive Oil ( Olive oil is a bitter therefor giving it a more savoury taste, if our want to add something sweeter for a recipe like grilled fruit, I recommend coconut oil )
  • Red + Yellow peppers (They give an awesome crunch plus some color to your skewers)
  • Mushrooms cut in halves
  • Red Onion
  • Ripened Pineapple

Spices I used:

  • Garlic powder
  • Thyme
  • Basil
  • Salt & Pepper (Pinch of salt, lots of pepper – which is my personal preference)

How to:

  1. Cut all your produce and add to a bowl expect the pineapple, I kept this to the side
  2. Add enough oil to cover all of the veggies when you mix them up with your hands, I found being sparing in the oil resulted in them grilling and being dry, more is better.
  3. Add spices to bowl, more or less depending on what you like. Mix with your hands again.
  4. Individually add veggies and pineapple pieces to your skewers
  5. Grill on the BBQ on medium, covered, turning every 5-7 minutes for a total of 10-15 minutes depending on preference. ( I waited until the onions were soft but prefer the peppers to stay a little crunchy)

A couple tips I learned both times making these:

  1. Soak your skewer sticks for at least 30 mins before using
  2. Make sure the pieces on the skewers are tightly packed together, leaving only a little space in between, everything shrinks once its cooked!
  3. Make sure the pieces are on the skewers securely, they will fall off it not
  4. Similar to tip 3, make sure the pieces are big enough they can be secure or they will shrivel and fall off.

Perfect for summer barbecues, pot lucks or to add to your fave dish. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

