Oven Baked Mixed Potatoes

PA161203.jpg

Happy fall everyone! I have been loving this season and using tons of flavours and spices. With Halloween around the corner I have been thinking up some healthy but delicious spooky treats. To keep things simple I thought about adding a twist onto a normal recipe that way it made it quick for everyone and a great idea for kids or dinner parties around this time.

I borrowed some Halloween themed cookie cutters but they are available in lots of locations. Try and find some smaller sized ones as my regular sizes were a bit too big.

Oven baking is convenient because I can throw whatever I’m making into the oven and carry on with homework or whatever else I have to do. Stovetop cooking can often require a bit more attention so if your todo list is still a page long by dinner, this recipe is a great option.

You’ll need:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A mixture of potatoes (Relatively the same size and bigger to fit the cutters) I used russet potatoes and both orange and purple sweet potatoes (My favourite for the fall time)

Olive oil ( I added pre minced garlic to mine)

Chopped white onion

Rosemary

Oregano 

Salt & Pepper

Cinnamon & Nutmeg (For the sweet potatoes) 

I didn’t measure these out- I used enough oil to rub on the potatoes and then enough of the dry spices to sprinkle on them as well.

How to:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. Start by heating your oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Start cutting your potatoes into slices, mine were around 1/2 an inch wide. The closer they are in size the less of a chance you’ll end up with some burnt potatoes and others uncooked.
  3. Use your cutters (or a knife if you’re feeling artistic) and cut the shapes! This is a great activity for kids as well, getting the involved in their food will help make them more interested and the healthy eating will be problem free!
  4. Lay on a pan and coat all the slices and onion with the olive oil and spices. I only put the cinnamon and nutmeg on the sweet potatoes.
  5. Cook for 15 mins and then use tongs to flips the slices to cook for another 15 mins.
  6. Let cool for 5 minutes and they’re ready to serve!

Enjoy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

