Vegan Mushroom Rosé Sauce

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pasta is a go-to meal for me as its filling and super delicious. Plus it’s quick and great for leftovers too. Rose sauce is a creamier tomato sauce which is great for company or for when you’re feeling like something a little different than the norm.

I do occasionally eat regular pasta but thought for this recipe I would include my favourite gluten free pasta. I find gluten free pasta can keep away bloating and post eating tiredness. I use Gogo Quinoa spaghetti for this recipe, this brand has many different styles of pasta and they’re all really great. I don’t notice a difference between this brand and regular pasta except for the gluten free to be slightly less soft. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Added benefits of the quinoa provide protein, carbs (the good kind!), and lots of iron so you aren’t losing out with this option.

Mushroom Rosé Sauce

What you need:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 tomatoes 
3 sun dried tomatoes 
1-2 garlic cloves  
1/2 cups basil 
Pepper
1/4 olive oil
2 tbsp tomatoes paste
1/4 cup coconut milk
1 tbsp water
1 cup mushrooms

How to:

The steps are extremely easy for this recipe, all you need is a blender or food processor and a pot.

Start by adding all of the ingredients except the mushrooms into your blender and then continue to blend until you get your desired consistency. I prefer mine chunky or you can process to smooth. You can add more or less ingredients in depending on your taste, chile peppers, rosemary and salt are examples of other great ingredients.

Add this plus your mushrooms to a pot and let it start to boil, followed by putting on the lid and turning the heat to low. I let this cook as I get my pasta started and its normally ready by the time my pasta is. You just want the mushrooms to become soft.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once everything is cooked, dish and serve! I added more pepper on mine as well as some vegan parmesan from a local vegan store but when I read the ingredients I realized how easy this could be to make yourself.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I also love this recipe for leftovers and lunches for work!

~Enjoy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

