Morning Start Oatmeal

P5050076.JPG

If you’re thinking about breakfast as a task that has happened to fall to the bottom of your morning to do list (if even on that list at all), don’t worry. This morning oatmeal recipe is simple and although it involves the stove, surprisingly quick. The best part of it all? It’s incredibly filling and will have you powered for work all morning (even on a Monday).

Being fuelled for your day helps you think clearer, feel energized and fight those mid day cravings. Starting your morning with the right nutrients will keep you on track for the entire day to come.

And if you do make time for breakfast and don’t have oatmeal in your food vocabulary, I urge you to give this a shot as I too was never a fan of oats. After trying a few kinds, I’ve warmed up and have this on a regular basis throughout the week.

Prep time: 10-15 Mins.

Vegan. gluten free. oil free

The Oatmeal- 

I use the brand Only Oats – Pure grain rolled oats, they are gluten free but don’t be shy from this idea- they’re delicious.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the base oatmeal I use one part water, half a part oatmeal. For myself I am able to have one cup water, half a cup of oats for one serving. Once brought to a light boil, the heat is turned down and I add the fruit of choice and a drop of vanilla extract.

My favourites to add are blueberries and/or a mashed banana.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once the remaining water has been soaked up and the oatmeal is thickened, I add maple syrup for sweetening. Another option I use is brown sugar. I also add my cinnamon at this time and once stirred, served to start my day.

On Top – 

I finished this with strawberries, hemp seeds, more cinnamon, and a little bit of brown sugar. The options for your toppings are endless. I also really enjoy: blackberries, chia seeds, flax seeds, nuts and almond milk.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Try a your favourite ingredients and find your recipe! Although its almost an everyday meal for me, the opportunities to add and subtract make it easy to have a new dish each day.

~ Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

